Skip to content

The Franklin Regional Council of Governments receives federal transportation funds through a contract with MassDOT to conduct regional transportation planning on behalf of Franklin County towns. Overseeing this work is the Franklin County Transportation Planning Organization (FCTPO), a group of local, regional and state stakeholders that meets monthly to direct transportation planning studies, and to prioritize federal transportation construction funds coming to Franklin County.

Transportation Service Area Page
MEETS: Fourth Tuesday of the month

The FCTPO is responsible for developing the Franklin County Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) that prioritizes construction projects, the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) that outlines work tasks of the FRCOG transportation planning staff, and the Long Range Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) that looks at the entirety of the Franklin County transportation network over a 25-year time horizon. Conducting this work depends on significant public involvement, and requires that plans and programs consider all modes of transportation, and support community development and social goals.

FCTPO Contacts
Beth Giannini

Beth Giannini

Transportation Program Manager


  • Secretary of Transportation and CEO of MassDOT, Chair of the FCTPO
  • Administrator of MassDOT Highway Division
  • Franklin Regional Council of Governments Executive Committee Chair
  • Franklin Regional Transit Authority Chair
  • Franklin Regional Council of Governments Regionally-Elected Official
  • Mayor of Greenfield
  • Three Franklin County Sub-Regional Appointments, one from each of the following three geographic areas:
    • West County
      Ashfield, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Hawley, Heath, Monroe, Rowe, Shelburne
    • Central County
      Bernardston, Conway, Deerfield, Gill, Leyden, Montague, Sunderland, Whately
    • East County
      Erving, Leverett, New Salem, Orange, Shutesbury, Warwick, Wendell
  • In addition, the Chair of the Franklin Regional Planning Board or his/her designee, and a representative from both the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) are considered ex-officio, non-voting members of the FCTPO.
Meeting Minutes

Note: Meeting agendas are posted on the Meetings & Events calendar on the date of the meeting.

Back To Top