In response to COVID-19, FRCOG offices are closed. Staff are working remotely. Email is likely the most efficient way to reach us. You can find our contact information on the Staff page under the About link below.

Building, plumbing and wiring inspectors are responding to emergencies only.

All meetings, workshops and forums are cancelled or have been changed to a call-in or video format.  Please look for emails from FRCOG staff about specific meetings or on our calendar at the Meetings and Events link below.

State COVID-19 Emergency Response Funding for Local Boards of Health

The Baker-Polito Administration has allocated $9M to local public health COVID-19 response funding.  Massachusetts has an extremely decentralized local public health infrastructure (more local health departments than California and Texas combined!) and many communities have not invested in a public health nurse for communicable disease monitoring. Fighting COVID-19 requires a robust local health infrastructure. For that reason, this early stream of state funding is available primarily to make sure that every town is covered for the direct management by the local health department of persons being quarantined or isolated for COVID-19.  The funding was distributed to health districts, the 14 largest cities, and regional affiliates. The FRCOG has received $150,000 on behalf of a number of towns, listed below. Use of funds is restricted to the  List of Allowable Costs as of 3_27_2020.

In Franklin County the towns and their funders are:

  • Towns accessing the funding through the Eastern Franklin Health District: Northfield, Erving, Shutesbury
  • Town accessing the funding through the Cooperative Public Health Service Health District: Bernardston, Buckland, Charlemont, Conway, Colrain, Deerfield, Gill, Hawley, Heath, Leyden, Monroe, Rowe, Shelburne.  (Erving is part of the public health nursing program at CPHS, but accesses these fund through its health inspection district)
  • Towns accessing the funding through the Foothills Health District: Whately
  • Unaffiliated Towns accessing the funding through FRCOG as a regional host: Ashfield, Greenfield, Sunderland, Montague, Leverett, Warwick, New Salem, Wendell, Orange.

Please contact Phoebe Walker with any questions at

CPHS Towns — COVID-19 Town Reimbursement Form

Expense-reporting-from-unaffiliated-towns FINAL2


Visit the FRCOG’s Municipal COVID-19 Resource Page