Skip to content

Twenty one (21) of the 26 towns in Franklin County are now designated Green Communities. Towns can become a Green Community by meeting a set of five criteria outlined by the Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources (DOER). Once designated as a Green Community, the Town is eligible to apply for grants that can be used on energy efficiency and clean energy improvements in the community. To date, Franklin County Green Communities have received a combined total of $3,796,660  that has been used in our local economy to improve energy efficiency and increase the use of renewable energy in Franklin County.

The Green Communities Program is an ongoing program with annual designation and grant application deadlines. FRCOG has been awarded funding through DOER’s Municipal Energy Technical Assistance (META) grant to assist towns to either become a Green Community, or if already designated, to meet annual reporting requirements and apply for additional grants. FRCOG staff have also applied on behalf of towns to fund energy audits of municipal buildings through the META grant program, which is open to all municipalities regardless of Green Community designation.

Audrey Boraski headshot.

Audrey Boraski

Land Use and Transportation Planner


Allison Gage headshot.

Allison Gage

Sr. Land Use and Natural Resources Planner


Kimberly MacPhee headshot.

Kimberly MacPhee, P.G., CFM

Land Use & Natural Resources Program Manager



Back To Top